Understanding my method (Lion’s Roar martial arts)

12 Apr

“Tradition is not the worship of ashes, but the preservation of fire.”
― Gustav Mahler

462619_4237080118657_370992210_o

In order to understand my method, my thinking, I have provided a few statements here. However, as my thinking always evolves, as I am never the same person I was yesterday, of course these thoughts can change. But in a way that is precisely the point; martial arts is like a river, you never step in the same river twice. Martial arts is something living, it must continue to evolve or it becomes meaningless.

sparring1

My method embraces both “fighting” and “health” or “physical culture”. It has never been, nor will it ever likely ever likely be an exclusive “either/or” proposition. I am identified widely for my success in training fighters, but I began my journey in the martial arts due to being deathly ill as a child (diagnosed with Leukemia at age six). Currently, my focus again in many ways has returned to using martial arts as health and corrective movement.

gglg

The essential foundation of my method, which allows for both of these divisions, is a strict adherence to always training with Truth. Truth transcends your style, system, tradition, lineage, teacher or school. You must embrace Truth regardless of the consequences. You must practice with Truth.

coaching

Most martial arts traditions have created a cult centering on the teacher. Disregard the teacher. In a minute, I will tell you why the very term is wrong! Disregard me, I am nothing but a clerk, a conduit; I have passed along information to the next generation. The messenger is not the message.

577238_2917589879333_329426398_n

In reality, I can not really “teach” you anything. If I give you a laundry list of techniques, unless you understand them, can break them apart, put them back together and create your own technique, you have not really learned them. You have “borrowed them” from me and will likely soon “return them”. My job is to help you understand concepts, and help you along in the process of learning. I can help you, but ultimately I can not make you understand. I can only put you in front of the Truth.

Leave a Reply

