Not so secret “secrets” in Chinese martial arts…

11 Mar

Today’s blog is an assortment of advice I give my students, mostly mundane stuff yet stuff that is often NOT discussed in martial arts classes these days. Thus the no to secret “secrets” in Chinese martial arts.

chan tai san chyuhn choih solo

Straight punches all originate from my center line. In fact, they connect my center line to my opponent’s center line. Keeping this in mind keeps my straight punches very accurate.

th chyuhn choih

Straight punches aimed at my opponent’s head originate at my nose. Straight punches aimed at my opponent’s body originate at my solar plexus. This is just “roughly speaking” but again, it is to keep you dominating the center line.

fifteen

The intent (意) is all important in punching. You concentrate on the front of the fist and the direction of the strike. When you strike the head, you picture your fist traveling out the back of their skull. When you strike the body, you picture your fist traveling to the spine. The intent also helps you develop the quality of your strike; stiff, pushing, springing, etc

fourteen

Remember that developing your bridges (forearms) and conditioning them means that often your strike will intercept and cut through other strikes.

29271_1204173484994_2019344_n

The Lama pai / Lion’s Roar instructor program is starting very soon! If you are interested you can contact me at INFO@nysanda.com

Leave a Reply

