How did I get here?

28 Dec

I have told the same story a hundred times. I have no idea WHY, but I do know I have been a very lucky person over the years.

Knowing virtually NOTHING about the martial arts, I happened to walk into a school run by a direct student of Hwang Kee (founder of the Moo Duk Kwan). That instructor, the late Pong Ki Kim, was also a 6th degree black belt in Hapkido and knew praying mantis kung fu. He taught a very well rounded program, including a lot of full contact with little pads.

A few years later, also by pure chance, I studied Hung Ga with a person from the Tang Fung lineage. Hung Ga is a pretty straight forward kung fu system but added to this was the fact that this sifu (teacher) was HUGE on basics.

Again, by pure dumb luck, I ended up studying Shuai Jiao (Chinese wrestling) with Jeng Hsin Ping, one of the most accomplished teachers of that method.

Finally, I ended up studying with Chan Tai San. Rest assured many (perhaps MOST) of my blogs will end up being about Chan Tai San.

I can’t tell you why, but I also seemed to question early on the things that most people took for granted. At 15 I spent long hours with my teacher, Pong Ki Kim, asking him WHY we did certain things, and WHY we did NOT do other things. I similarly aggravated and frustrated and argued with Chan Tai San for almost two decades.

My thoughts and approach to martial arts have always been different. These blogs will be about this journey

NOW GO TRAIN!
SIFU
NY Best Kickboxing

Leave a Reply

